Department of Psychiatry

Dr. Muhammd Rehman (HOD)

The department of Psychiatry, established in 1980 offers both outpatient and inpatient services to people suffering from mental illnesses. As the only admitting and well resourced facility in the area, our catchment area is very wide and extends much beyond Swat. Our dedicated team comprises of consultant psychiatrists, trained medical officers, psychiatric nurses, ECT technician, pharmacist, social medical officer and psychologists. We provide support to the medical board, district jail and liaison service to other disciplines in the hospital.  The department also runs a fully functional separate drugs de addiction unit.

Our unit is recognised by CPSP for fellowship training and we strive to achieve academic excellence and to translate it to a better patient care facility.

Department of Psychiartry,  Faculty members

S.No Name of Doctor Qualification Designation Faculty Reg. No.


Dr. Muhammad Rehman              


Assistrant Professor       

2. Dr. Mian Nizam Ali MBBS, MCPS  Assistant Professor           ---
3. Dr. Ashfaq Hussain  MBBS, FCPS        Senior Registrar 26271/16379-N/M
4. Dr. Gohar Ali  MBBS,  MCPS District Specialist ---
5. Dr. Ayub Khan MBBS,  Junior Registrar ---