Department of Ophthalmology

Professor Dr. Arshad Iqbal(HOD)

In 2001, Saidu Group of Hospitals was given the status of a teaching hospital affiliated with Saidu Medical College. In its present capacity, Ophthalmology department is a fully developed tertiary care unit with experienced and qualified faculty, providing comprehensive 24 hour eye casualty and out and in-patient services to a catchment area comprising the whole of Malakand division

The Ophthalmic Outpatient Department (OPD) handles a significant proportion of all workload and activity for both adult and children. Multiple workspaces provide an ideal environment for a comprehensive range of optical/ophthalmological activity including orthoptic and specialist consultation supported by diagnostic and therapeutic equipment. These include auto-refractors, slit lamps, tonometer, indirect ophthalmoscope, keratometer, A & B-scan ultrasound, visual field analyzer, fundus imaging system, YAG photodisruptive and Argon photocoagulative lasers. The OPD provides refraction of all patients on arrival, consultation, minor operation theater and is also a teaching hub making use of video screen display of slitlamp images. The unit provides OPD services to 60000 patients annually.

The Ophthalmology ward is a 28-bedded ward managed by specialized ophthalmic nurses. Our ward provides 24-hour eye casualty services and pre-operative and postoperative care for elective surgeries.  A demonstration room provides for clinical case presentation along with other teaching/training activities. The annual in-patient admissions are 3200 patients.
The operation theater is well equipped with the latest operation microscopes, phacoemulsification, vitrectomy machine and other necessary equipment. Annually 3000 major and minor procedures are undertaken under both local and general anesthesia.
Ophthalmology unit, Saidu Teaching hospital prides in providing quality care and will endeavor to expand its services to include postgraduate training, subspecialty departments and subspecialty training.



Department of Ophthalmology, Faculty members

S.No Name of Doctor Qualification Designation Faculty Reg. No.


Dr.Arshad Iqbal




2. Dr. Sher Akbar Khan MBBS, FCPS Assistant Professor 36961/13119-N/M
3. Dr. Amir Naseem MBBS, FCPS Senior Registrar 29643/12622-N/M
4. Dr. Yasir Ahmad  MBBS, FCPS Senior Registrar ---